How Did Mps Vote On Withdrawal Agreement

  • Uncategorized

Earlier, Sir Keir Starmer, the shadow secretary for Brexit, said Labour could still “win the moral argument” after its failed attempt to include refugee child protection in the government`s Brexit deal. On 27 February 2019, the House of Commons passed a amendable motion: “Let this House take note of the Prime Minister`s statement on the withdrawal from the European Union on 26 February 2019; also notes that discussions between the UK and the EU are ongoing.¬†On the weekend before the amendment was voted on in the House of Commons, the leaders of the United Nations Group on Relations with the European Union signed a statement saying: “Members of all parties have already given valuable control to the EU withdrawal law and we have forced the government to make some concessions. But it won`t matter if we can`t really vote on the withdrawal agreement that the government is negotiating with the European Union. [20] [21] Not surprisingly, the positions of political parties have changed significantly, the government was defeated by 432 votes to 202 in the 15 January vote. The 230-vote lead was the worst for a government in the modern history of Parliament. [76] 196 Conservative MPs, 3 Labour MPs and 3 independent MPs supported the agreement. The deal was voted against 118 Conservative MPs, 248 Labour MPs, 35 SNP MPs, 11 Liberal Democrats, 10 DUP MPs, 4 Plaid Cymru MPs, the only Green MP and five independent MPs. [77] Chris Evans (Labour – Islwyn) (proxy vote of Mark Tami) In the evening, Grieve`s amendment was passed by 309 votes to 305, a majority of 4 votes,[18] [26] a defeat for the government. [27] Twelve Conservative MPs voted against the government: Grieve, Soubry, Heidi Allen, Kenneth Clarke, Jonathan Djanogly, Stephen Hammond, Oliver Heald, Nicky Morgan, Bob Neill, Antoinette Sandbach, John Stevenson and Sarah Wollaston. A month earlier, everyone except Stevenson made the front page of the Daily Telegraph, with Conservative MPs Vicky Ford, Jeremy Lefroy, Paul Masterton and Tom Tugendhat calling them “The Brexit Mutineers.” [29] 32 Labour MPs and 10 Conservatives did not vote. Standing Order No. 24B says: “Where, according to the opinion of the spokesperson… A movement…

In neutral terms, no amendments can be tabled on this subject. [68] The Grieves amendment does not apply this permanent decision to any request made as part of the meaningful vote of the Act that would amend any request for the withdrawal process by Parliament. [2] These Members, described as “non-voters,” may not have done so for a number of reasons. They may have wanted to abstain or have constituency or departmental matters. The spokesman and his deputies cannot vote, and Sinn Fein members do not traditionally vote. Two amendments were adopted. An amendment to a common commitment between the UK and the EU for citizens` rights was adopted without any division. An amendment to set the timetable for new wise votes in March 2019 was adopted at a range of 502 to 20.

Close Menu